Why Can’t You Want Me Like The Other Boys Do?

loved the lyrics

Thought Catalog

Why can’t you want me like the other boys do?
They stare at me while I stare at you 

It’s summer. It’s sticky and sweaty and my blood is so hot I feel as though it might boil over at any moment, cooking my insides and leaving me poached on the pavement. The night doesn’t bring any comfort. We’ve all gotten dressed up and gone to a bar near the water. My long black dress hangs off my shoulders and touches the ground as I walk. It’s too warm to wear heels. My hair is wild; the heat gives my curls a mind of their own. I learned a long time ago to stop trying to control them.

He is there with us. I don’t notice because I am talking with an old friend.

Whenever I realize he is there, I am always aware of the amount of space between…

View original post 980 more words

Leave a Reply

